Thread poster: Adam Lozier
Adam Lozier
Adam Lozier  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:38
Member (2018)
French to English
May 10, 2020

I am wondering whether anyone has attended NYU's MS in Translation program and would be willing to share their thoughts.

I have been working as a freelance translator (FR>EN) for the past two years. My undergraduate degree is not in a language field, and I wondering whether completing NYU's program will be worth it (considering the relatively high cost of the program, in the 75k range) to 1) make long-term professional contacts and 2) get a degree that will be valued in the industry
... See more
I am wondering whether anyone has attended NYU's MS in Translation program and would be willing to share their thoughts.

I have been working as a freelance translator (FR>EN) for the past two years. My undergraduate degree is not in a language field, and I wondering whether completing NYU's program will be worth it (considering the relatively high cost of the program, in the 75k range) to 1) make long-term professional contacts and 2) get a degree that will be valued in the industry.

I would also be interested to hear from other professionals about whether a Masters in Translation is a good way to go in terms of an advanced degree in this industry. I have heard from some translators that a Masters in technical writing or another field may actually be a better choice.

Thanks to all in advance.
Collapse

The Misha
The Misha
Local time: 09:38
Russian to English
+ ...
In all fairness, this should have been labeled as potentially offensive May 10, 2020