FR to EN hardware solutions - Canada/USA
Thread poster: Francis Murphy (X)
Francis Murphy (X)
Francis Murphy (X)  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 11:31
French to English
Mar 22, 2015

This is the hardware solution I chose for French to English translation work in Canada, for European and other clients. I am a retired electrical engineer now doing translation as a second career. I attended French schools beginning at age six, although my maternal language is English and I have worked in French in both Europe and Quebec, in an engineering capacity.

I purchased a laptop from Costco ($999 Cdn), an HP Envy 17" with two 1 TB drives and 12 GB RAM. This is obviously o
... See more
This is the hardware solution I chose for French to English translation work in Canada, for European and other clients. I am a retired electrical engineer now doing translation as a second career. I attended French schools beginning at age six, although my maternal language is English and I have worked in French in both Europe and Quebec, in an engineering capacity.

I purchased a laptop from Costco ($999 Cdn), an HP Envy 17" with two 1 TB drives and 12 GB RAM. This is obviously overkill in speed - it is also used as a gaming computer - but for the $200 or so extra, it seemed like a machine that would handle everything for 4 - 5 years. Later I bought an SSD of 100 GB ($100 Cdn) to replace one of the hard drives. The SSD kit included a case to re-use the 1 TB drive as a backup. The SSD makes boot-up very fast, 30 seconds or so. I backup to Google Drive and also to my HD using Acronis.

My goal was to NOT change keyboards but to be able to type in both English (mostly) and French (for correspondence). My laptop was intentionally purchased with the Canadian standard "bilingual" keyboard. See https://www.google.ca/webhp?sourceid=chrome-instant&ion=1&espv=2&ie=UTF-8#q=canadian%20laptop%20keyboard%20layout