Dylan J Hartmann
Dylan J Hartmann  Identity Verified
Australia
Member (2014)
Thai to English
+ ...

Jul 28, 2015

Does anyone think it would work?

I'm looking for a portable option to get away from the office desk iMac on some occasions, and just for small MS Word translations from pdfs (or occasional Wordfast projects).

Tossing between the Air and new Macbook... no need for the Pro, just something small and light.

What do you all think?

Peter Simon
Peter Simon  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 03:03
English to Hungarian
+ ...
Hi, DJ, Jul 28, 2015

I've been using MacBook Pro for 8 years after Windows-based machines and love it. I've just bought a new one with 16 GB memory and 15" screen, but I only use this one machine, often with an attached larger screen. If you only need it for occasional use, the 8 GB and the video card and double-core chip on the new MacBook will do even for running Parallels with Win if you need to and if the small screen size doesn't disturb you.

I think the Air with its 4 GB is a bit less than necess
... See more
I've been using MacBook Pro for 8 years after Windows-based machines and love it. I've just bought a new one with 16 GB memory and 15" screen, but I only use this one machine, often with an attached larger screen. If you only need it for occasional use, the 8 GB and the video card and double-core chip on the new MacBook will do even for running Parallels with Win if you need to and if the small screen size doesn't disturb you.

I think the Air with its 4 GB is a bit less than necessary for running Parallels. I've allocated 3 GB's to Parallels out of the 16 on the 15" Pro, and it runs well on that. Earlier I had half of 3 GB's on my 2008 Pro and it was quite slow so I never thought an Air would provide improvement on that. You haven't mentioned it but I do as most translation softwares only run on Win, and there the Air seems a bit too little. However, it's a lot cheaper as well.