Virginia Castellano
Virginia Castellano  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 06:09
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jul 11, 2019

Hi dear ProZers,

I'm looking to buy a new laptop for my proofreadings/translations where I sued mainly Word and WordFast.

I'm trying to narrow down my choices and am now comparing Lenovo ThinkPad E490 vs ThinkPad L480.
Any thoughts?

Any other model of the kind you might be satisfied with ( I'm trying to spend 500-650€ max)?

Thanks again for the collective wisdom

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Specifications? Jul 11, 2019

Virginia Castellano wrote:
I am now comparing Lenovo ThinkPad E490 vs ThinkPad L480. I'm trying to spend 500-650€ max.

I have no experience with either, so I can only compare them on screen (you're likely doing the same).

My local store sells both of them for around €650 (8 GB, 256 GB). From what I can see, both have the same graphics and while the E490's Core i3 has 2 cores and the L480's Core i5 has 4 cores, their processors perform very similar in benchmarks (although the E490 is 30% less powerful overall, but 10% is more powerful in single-core usage). The E490 has Bluetooth 5.0 instead of 4.1. Holewise, the L480 has 2 x USB 3.0 and 2 x USB 3.1 (type C, 5 Gb/s) whereas the E490 has 1 x USB 2.0, 2 x USB 3.0 and 1 x USB 3.1 (type C, 10 Gb/s).

So, with that in mind, let's see:
1. What will you be connecting to this computer via Bluetooth in the near future? Probably no more than a mouse and keyboard, so Bluetooth 4.1 should be more than sufficient. Bluetooth 5.0 devices can potentially use less power, but only if the device is set up like that. It is unlikely (touch wood) that you'll be connecting to a Bluetooth external monitor any time soon.
2. Most CAT tools are not programmed to use multi-core capability, so single-core strength is more important to us. However, the E490's processor is only about 10% better on that front, so it won't be noticeable.