What is the difference between nonclinical and preclinical studies?
Thread poster: Roman Shchadnov
Roman Shchadnov
Roman Shchadnov
Russian Federation
Local time: 22:09
English to Russian
+ ...
Jan 21, 2018

As a medical translator, I was recently asked about the difference between two terms: “nonclinical study” and “preclinical study”. Unfortunately, I was not able to provide the answer, because I could not find any regulatory documents in which these terms were clearly separated.

As far as I can gather, these terms are very similar (both mainly refer to animal studies with a similar purpose), but the term “preclinical study” refers to a study performed before a first-in-ma
... See more
As a medical translator, I was recently asked about the difference between two terms: “nonclinical study” and “preclinical study”. Unfortunately, I was not able to provide the answer, because I could not find any regulatory documents in which these terms were clearly separated.

As far as I can gather, these terms are very similar (both mainly refer to animal studies with a similar purpose), but the term “preclinical study” refers to a study performed before a first-in-man study, whereas the term “nonclinical study” refers to a study that can be performed both before a clinical study and alongside with it.

Am I right? Or there are other significant differences between them?
Collapse

Kaspars Melkis
Kaspars Melkis  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 19:09
English to Latvian
+ ...
they are the same thing Jan 21, 2018

I don't think there are any technical differences. Pre-clinical studies are so-called from the perspective of regulatory workflow and are needed to commence clinical trials. Whereas nonclinical studies are all those which do not involve human subjects. I can easily imagine them being performed outside the regulatory framework or at any time really.

Nikki Scott-Despaigne
Nikki Scott-Despaigne  Identity Verified
Local time: 20:09
French to English