Thread poster: Claudio Pagliarani
Claudio Pagliarani
Claudio Pagliarani  Identity Verified
Member (2009)
English to Italian
+ ...
Oct 28, 2009

Hi all,

I am a former TRADOS-addicted professional translator. After the launch of TRADOS 2009 Suite, which I bought, I had to give up working with that CAT-tool because it constantly crashes, doesn't work etc.

I am now using MemoQ 3.6 and I am very happy with excellent tool (translation environment, as they call it).

I just have one question: is there any way to hide and display blanks / white spaces while translating? I have been looking for this function
... See more
Hi all,

I am a former TRADOS-addicted professional translator. After the launch of TRADOS 2009 Suite, which I bought, I had to give up working with that CAT-tool because it constantly crashes, doesn't work etc.

I am now using MemoQ 3.6 and I am very happy with excellent tool (translation environment, as they call it).

I just have one question: is there any way to hide and display blanks / white spaces while translating? I have been looking for this function in the whole online help, but I have found nothing useful...

I know that there is a (!), a default "alert" that turns on as soon as you confirm a segment. It warns that several / more than one white spaces are included in the segment that has just been confirmed.

Thank you
Collapse

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT
Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 19:51
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
A special font to see the whitespaces Oct 28, 2009

Yes, as a Trados user for ages I was also missing the possibility to see whitespaces.

For the main thing, i.e. seeing the spaces, you have a solution in MemoQ's Wikibook. The idea is as simple as using a font with spaces painted as little dots.

It would be better to have an option in MemoQ to show/hide spaces depending on the situation. M
... See more
Yes, as a Trados user for ages I was also missing the possibility to see whitespaces.