memoQ Server. Resolving conflicts when several people work on the same project (memoQ 9.5)
Շարքի հրապարակողը: Olga Sushytska

Olga Sushytska  Identity Verified
Կանադա
Local time: 19:19
Անդամ (2019)
անգլերենից ուկրաիներեն
+ ...
Oct 20

Hi everyone! I’ve recently worked on a project via memoQ Server (my memoQ version is 9.5) for the first time and I’m hoping someone who’s had more experience with it will help me figure out a couple of things.

It turned out that the reviewer started proofreading my translations before I confirmed that the translation is completed. The client actually warned me that proofreading will start early, but somehow I didn’t think it meant THAT early.

Anyway, the import
... See more
Hi everyone! I’ve recently worked on a project via memoQ Server (my memoQ version is 9.5) for the first time and I’m hoping someone who’s had more experience with it will help me figure out a couple of things.

It turned out that the reviewer started proofreading my translations before I confirmed that the translation is completed. The client actually warned me that proofreading will start early, but somehow I didn’t think it meant THAT early.

Anyway, the important thing is when I synchronized the project before final delivery, I saw that half of my translations were already confirmed by Reviewer 2 and that there were some conflicts.
Now, when I wanted to keep my version and clicked the segment in the lower half of the Resolve Conflicts window, everything was fine:

resolve-conflicts

But when I wanted to keep the version that was on the server (e.g., Reviewer 2’s version), clicking the segment in the upper half of the window didn’t work. Pressing Ctrl+Enter in the Review Changes and Conflicts tab also didn’t work:

resolve-changes-and-conflicts

What seemed to do the trick is ticking the Dismiss box next to the conflict warning.
So, here comes my first question. Can anyone explain if this is the way it’s supposed to work? Why couldn’t I keep the version from the server by choosing the upper segment in the Resolve Conflicts window? Why didn’t Ctrl+Enter work? And shouldn’t Dismiss a change mean reject a change? How come by dismissing it I actually kept the Reviewer 2’s version?

I have a lot of other questions, so feel free to look at them and share your thoughts.
2. Do I need to do anything about all those blue arrow notifications (icon_changemark_changed_by_other)? Do I just ignore them? Or do I need to Dismiss them? (and again, wouldn’t that mean that I reject them?) Do I, perhaps, need to Clear all change marks from the document? And, anyway, what does this mean exactly? Simply clearing the marks or the changes as well? Why would I need to do it?

Also, why does description next to those arrows say “Segment has been changed by another user” if it hasn’t been changed but only approved by Reviewer 2?

3. Does it even matter how I resolve the conflicts? Shouldn’t Reviewer 2’s edits take precedence over the Translator’s? If I decide to keep my original translation of a segment instead of Reviewer 2’s version, is it really reflected in the final project or only in my local copy?

4. When the segments got approved by Reviewer 2 (double green tick marks appeared next to them), I couldn’t edit them anymore even though there was no lock mark. Is this normal, too?

5. Is there a way to avoid the situation when Reviewer 2 starts proofreading when I’m still not ready? In my case the document I worked on was divided into several batches. When Reviewer 2 saw that the first batch was 100% translated, they started proofreading. Do I simply turn off synchronization if I don’t want Reviewer 2 to see that a batch is 100% translated? What happens with auto-propagation in this case? If I commit my translations to TM with synchronization turned off, will auto-propagation still work? Or is synchronization needed for this? The client said that usually they try to keep translation and proofreading separate, so this shouldn't be a regular situation, but I'd like to be prepared.

6. Finally, is there a difference between project synchronization and document synchronization when there’s only one document in the project? Or does it only matter when there are several documents? What’s the use in synchronizing only one document and not the whole project?

I know that’s a lot of questions. But I would really appreciate some insight into how to go about… all of this.
Collapse


 


To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:


You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

memoQ Server. Resolving conflicts when several people work on the same project (memoQ 9.5)

Advanced search






Protemos translation business management system
Create your account in minutes, and start working! 3-month trial for agencies, and free for freelancers!

The system lets you keep client/vendor database, with contacts and rates, manage projects and assign jobs to vendors, issue invoices, track payments, store and manage project files, generate business reports on turnover profit per client/manager etc.

More info »
Anycount & Translation Office 3000
Translation Office 3000

Translation Office 3000 is an advanced accounting tool for freelance translators and small agencies. TO3000 easily and seamlessly integrates with the business life of professional freelance translators.

More info »



Forums
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Բառերի որոնում
  • Պատվերներ
  • Ֆորումներ
  • Multiple search