Trados files and TM in Metatexis - any tips?
Thread poster: Ivana Friis Søndergaard
Ivana Friis Søndergaard
Ivana Friis Søndergaard
United Kingdom
Local time: 01:22
Member (2008)
English to Danish
+ ...
Aug 6, 2008

A client has agreed that I can try working on Trados files (one xml file and a plain word doc) and Trados TM ( tmx) with Metatexis, my preferred CAt software. I have never worked with Trados files before and I obviously really want it to go well.

So far I have managed to open the xml doc fine, I also used the Trados TM for pre-translation with no problems. But I do have a problem with the Trados TM - I can't seem to get it "attached" to my translation file now, and I wasn't able to
... See more
A client has agreed that I can try working on Trados files (one xml file and a plain word doc) and Trados TM ( tmx) with Metatexis, my preferred CAt software. I have never worked with Trados files before and I obviously really want it to go well.

So far I have managed to open the xml doc fine, I also used the Trados TM for pre-translation with no problems. But I do have a problem with the Trados TM - I can't seem to get it "attached" to my translation file now, and I wasn't able to save the TUs in the Trados TM so I had to create a new TM instead - not what I envisioned. I am about to start work on the Word file.

Any tips or hints regarding Trados files and TMs in Metatexis? The Metatexis manual is quite brief on this subject and I think I have abused the kindness of Mr. Bruns too much already
Collapse

Hermann Bruns
Hermann Bruns  Identity Verified
Local time: 02:22
English to German
MetaTexis cannot read native TRADOS TMs Aug 6, 2008

Hi Ivana,

MetaTexis cannot read native TRADOS TMs. A TRADOS TM must first be exported to a format that can be imported by MetaTexis (text for TMX). So, you have to ask your client for the exported TM. This you can import in your TM.