Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Off topic: Translator contemplating move to Mexico
Thread poster: Sonya Gerisch
Sonya Gerisch
Sonya Gerisch  Identity Verified
Local time: 19:47
German to English
Nov 17, 2013

I am an established freelance translator (German to English), US citizen, and have been doing this for 13 years now. For the past 2 years I have been thinking about moving to the Lake Chapala area of Mexico (near Guadalajara) for several reasons. I was waiting for the Affordable Care Act (Obamacare) to be implemented to see what my options were and unfortunately I am one of the 5% who will not be helped. I am self-employed, a bit older (48), and so therefore make a bit more money and any new pla... See more
I am an established freelance translator (German to English), US citizen, and have been doing this for 13 years now. For the past 2 years I have been thinking about moving to the Lake Chapala area of Mexico (near Guadalajara) for several reasons. I was waiting for the Affordable Care Act (Obamacare) to be implemented to see what my options were and unfortunately I am one of the 5% who will not be helped. I am self-employed, a bit older (48), and so therefore make a bit more money and any new plan is actually worse than the plan I have now which is pretty bad already. Plus I will not qualify for any subsidies. I do not mind paying for health insurance or care, but in the last 2 years I have paid out $17,000/year in medical expenses. I cannot keep this up without risking losing everything.

Secondly, I like that type of climate and I like the mountains. Thirdly, there are already a lot of Americans and Canadians living in this area. The other option is Germany, but the cost of living is very high there compared to Mexico, and in Lake Chapala, other than housing which will be about the same, everything else will be much, much cheaper.