Astrid_H  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 08:36
German to English
+ ...
Mar 17, 2014

Hello everyone,

I hope it's okay to post this request here in the off-topic section:

I've been a proz.com member for a short while, since I work as a translator and at this time also as a technical writer (in DE and EN). For the past 3 years, I've also been studying toward an MA in Technical Communication at Sheffield Hallam University and will be finishing this year. While I haven't contributed as much to the proz community as I would like yet, I would like to ask a fa
... See more
Hello everyone,

I hope it's okay to post this request here in the off-topic section:

I've been a proz.com member for a short while, since I work as a translator and at this time also as a technical writer (in DE and EN). For the past 3 years, I've also been studying toward an MA in Technical Communication at Sheffield Hallam University and will be finishing this year. While I haven't contributed as much to the proz community as I would like yet, I would like to ask a favour:

I'm currently writing my MA thesis on which types of help documentation software users prefer. For this, I have created a 10-minute questionnaire which is live now until at least for a month. For significant results, I require at least 400 complete responses, in order to split results into more detailed user / audience groups, it needs to be a lot more.

What I want to achieve is more than just finish a dissertation, it's to give technical writers rough guidelines as to what information to put into different help outputs depending on their specific audience. I will make the information available to anyone interested - just let me know.

You as language professionals may well know a number of technical communicators and possible participants, and those again may know more possible participants.