Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Off topic: How easy is it to get back the basics of a forgotten language?
Thread poster: Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 14:51
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Sep 2, 2016

I'm beginning to have cold feet about a holiday I've booked. It's a January cruise on a German ship and neither I nor my husband speak German. I would have expected English to have been used on the TUI website and on board, but no. It's 100% German unless we start sinking (thanks to Concordia).

I studied the language intensively at school, but I've never used it since ... and I'm 60 now! To be honest, I never could speak it although I remember writing a three-page essay on the Commo
... See more
I'm beginning to have cold feet about a holiday I've booked. It's a January cruise on a German ship and neither I nor my husband speak German. I would have expected English to have been used on the TUI website and on board, but no. It's 100% German unless we start sinking (thanks to Concordia).

I studied the language intensively at school, but I've never used it since ... and I'm 60 now! To be honest, I never could speak it although I remember writing a three-page essay on the Common Market for the A-level exam. That was the same year as the "Brentry" referendum.

Does anyone have anything to share on reviving the basics of a language? Any advice, short of spending a lot of time and/or money? I got through the booking process by relying very heavily on GT , but that isn't going to help on board. I'm hoping it will magically return when I'm surrounded by Germans speaking German. But that's probably wishful thinking.
Collapse

Sasha Spencer
Sasha Spencer
United States
Local time: 08:51
English to Russian
+ ...
Listening might help Sep 3, 2016