Anne Gaujard-Scott
Anne Gaujard-Scott  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 19:17
Member (2016)
English to French
Jun 14, 2019

Hi everyone,

I am technologically challenged and I need your help!

A new client sent me the text to be translated both as an rtf and as an xlf file. I have never worked on either formats before as my clients usually send me Word, pdf or xliff files.

I have used the xlf file (bilingual table of segments) in Trados Studio 2015. I didn't have any problem importing the file into Trados and translating it, but somehow I can't deliver it back to the client in xlf
... See more
Hi everyone,

I am technologically challenged and I need your help!

A new client sent me the text to be translated both as an rtf and as an xlf file. I have never worked on either formats before as my clients usually send me Word, pdf or xliff files.

I have used the xlf file (bilingual table of segments) in Trados Studio 2015. I didn't have any problem importing the file into Trados and translating it, but somehow I can't deliver it back to the client in xlf. I can only save it as an xliff but the client does not use Trados. I also tried to "save target as" an xlf but the client says it gives her an empty file.

It might be pretty basic stuff but I am not very good at the technological side of translating! Can anyone help please?
Collapse

Amnon Shapira
Amnon Shapira  Identity Verified
Israel
Local time: 20:17
Member (2011)
English to Hebrew
RTF Jun 14, 2019

Hi Anne,
Just try to translate the RTF file. Use the same TM and it will pre-translate the file, than you can "Save the source as".
Good luck

Anne Gaujard-Scott
France
Member (2016)
English to French
TOPIC STARTER
Use the rtf rather than the xlf? Jun 14, 2019

Thank you for your help, Amnon.
I ended up copy-pasting my translation from Trados onto the rtf file. It was fairly painless, the only annoying thing was that I had to add all the placeables manually.