ANOTHER question about subtitling rates....
Thread poster: MK2010
MK2010
MK2010  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 08:08
French to English
+ ...
Sep 29, 2010

Hello all,

I just landed my first subtitling gig, doing the French subtitles for an award winning documentary (Sundance, Berlin, many more). Since this is my first time, and I am lucky enough to break into this field with such a prestige project, I quoted 5 USD / min so 450 USD for the whole project.

It doesn't require special software, they just send me a PDF document with the text and the subtitles broken down by number, and then I type my translation into a MS word
... See more
Hello all,

I just landed my first subtitling gig, doing the French subtitles for an award winning documentary (Sundance, Berlin, many more). Since this is my first time, and I am lucky enough to break into this field with such a prestige project, I quoted 5 USD / min so 450 USD for the whole project.

It doesn't require special software, they just send me a PDF document with the text and the subtitles broken down by number, and then I type my translation into a MS word document, such as:

* 1 : 00:01:06:07 00:01:07:13 18c
Salut les gars!

After reading threads here and doing a lot of googling, I find that the going rates remain an absolute total mystery. The union in France recommends 3,90€ per subtitle (just the translation, not the cueing). That would be 3900 euros for a 1000 subtitle project !!!!!

Does anybody actually make that kind of money?

They are going to give me another documentary, another really "prestigious" project, and I would like to up my price in a way that's fair to both of us. This is small distributor, so they don't have tons of money, but on the other hand my rate is way too low I think (it ends up being about 0.56 dollars per subtitle) and I am in a very precarious financial situation at the moment.

Any advice on what to charge? 1000 euros for the next project? Less, more?

Thanks!
Collapse