Is Subtitling Really As Fun As It Looks?
Thread poster: Elliefox
Feb 27, 2011

Hi, my name is Elizabeth. I'm new to the forum. *waves*

I'm a recent English graduate, and I'm considering a career in subtitling. I think it's something I would vastly enjoy. But while researching the field, I came across this hilarious
... See more

I'm a recent English graduate, and I'm considering a career in subtitling. I think it's something I would vastly enjoy. But while researching the field, I came across this hilarious article about subtitling.

http://bizcovering.com/business/how-to-get-a-job-subtitling-for-hugh-hefner/

I was just wondering if anyone has any horror stories to tell? Have you ever had to subtitle/translate something that disgusted/scared you or was there a job that you've turned down because it went against your morals/beliefs in any way?

I look forward to hearing your responses!
Collapse

Ramey Rieger (X)
Ramey Rieger (X)  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 08:37
German to English
Sorry to disappoint you! Feb 28, 2011

Hello Elizabeth,
I haven't any horrors or moral dilemmas to relate from my experience with subtitling. I loved every bit of it. Even the scenes where the commentator in a nature documentary had trouble repressing his hysterical laughter during a mating scene between orang utans. I guess he identified deeply with them - whether with the male or female wasn't clear. We also did some English/English subtitling for classic films with Edward G. Robinson which was loads of fun finding differ
... See more
Hello Elizabeth,