Thinking of getting training in subtitling
Thread poster: Anna Parish
Anna Parish
Anna Parish  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 09:48
English to Russian
Jan 28, 2013

Hello, I am a freelance translator. I have been thinking recently of new ways to get more work and somebody mentioned that subtitiling could be a good niche to get into.

The only short course I managed to find is a 3 day course at London Metropolitan University. Do you think that sounds reasonable to get a good base to start professional subtitling?

Another question, how difficult would it be to get work? Is there less or more work compared to other translation fields
... See more
Hello, I am a freelance translator. I have been thinking recently of new ways to get more work and somebody mentioned that subtitiling could be a good niche to get into.

The only short course I managed to find is a 3 day course at London Metropolitan University. Do you think that sounds reasonable to get a good base to start professional subtitling?

Another question, how difficult would it be to get work? Is there less or more work compared to other translation fields? And my language pair is English - Russian (target). Would there be enough work in the UK, or it would mainly be done in Russia?

Many thanks for your help!
Collapse

Fikret Yesilyurt
Fikret Yesilyurt  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 11:48
English to Turkish
A suggestion: Jan 29, 2013

I dont know if a 3-day course will help to get advanced (or at least to make a start), but here is my suggestion:

First, decide a genre for subtitling, because there is a great variety out there. After making a decision on the genre, try to translate subtitles of one or two movies / tv shows / documentaries and publish on those free subtitle websites to see if they are accepted (since there is a moderation process in some of them) and see the feedbacks. Just for fun, I have transla
... See more