Noukita
Noukita
Switzerland
Local time: 16:06
German to French
+ ...
Mar 26, 2013

Hello everyone,

I am new to ProZ though I have already a basic experience with translation/subtitling (mostly German>French).

But I would like to have a few "experts"-opinions about the 2 following problems I recently encountered.

1) When you have a documentary, where someone takes quite long for his sentence, how long do you display the subtitle? Sometimes I try to cut the sentence in two separate subtitles of one line each instead of the regular 2-lines
... See more
Hello everyone,

I am new to ProZ though I have already a basic experience with translation/subtitling (mostly German>French).

But I would like to have a few "experts"-opinions about the 2 following problems I recently encountered.

1) When you have a documentary, where someone takes quite long for his sentence, how long do you display the subtitle? Sometimes I try to cut the sentence in two separate subtitles of one line each instead of the regular 2-lines-subtitle). This is possible when the person hesitates for example, and makes a silence inbetween. But sometimes it doesn't always make sense, for example if the person makes a mistake by pronouncing a word and correcting himself.
In this case, do you keep the same rhythm of displaying the subtitle like the other few sentences just before (but then the subtitle "disappears" already in the middle of the sentence, even if there certainly was enough time to read it). That is what I would tend to do, but I have doubts and ask myself if other persons might find it strange that the subtitle disappears while the person is still speaking (I am not talking of a difference about few images, but sometimes whole seconds).

2) The other problem I have (in a documentary too) is when the person begins to talk before a scene change ("off-voice", you don't see the person yet, just hear her talking a few seconds before she appears on screen in the interview situation).