Anneli Lamoureux
Anneli Lamoureux  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 06:34
Member (2013)
French to Swedish
+ ...
May 22, 2013

Hi there, I am Anneli, and I need your help in telling me a little more about subtitling. I am new to subtitling translation and I just received an offer from an agency and the want me to give them my rates for the following:

a. Translation from source without an English template

b. Translation with a timed English template

c. QC of a translated subtitle stream

First of all I'm not sure about the
... See more
Hi there, I am Anneli, and I need your help in telling me a little more about subtitling. I am new to subtitling translation and I just received an offer from an agency and the want me to give them my rates for the following:

a. Translation from source without an English template

b. Translation with a timed English template

c. QC of a translated subtitle stream

First of all I'm not sure about the difference between a. and b. but I guess that in a. you have to do the transcription yourself? What is the average rate for subtitling in Europe and what is the difference in time and rate between a. and b.

Thank you all for your precious help !

Anneli
Collapse

Faustine.Rou (X)
Faustine.Rou (X)
Local time: 05:34
English to French
... May 22, 2013

Hi Anneli,

The difference between A and B is that with A, you have to do the spotting yourself. With B, you're given a template, that is an empty subtitle file (or sometimes with the source transcript in it) and you just have to do the translation.

Basically, working without a template can be more time consuming and should be charged more (although I do prefer to do the timing myself).

I hope that helps.

Anneli Lamoureux
Anneli Lamoureux  Identity Verified
France
Member (2013)
French to Swedish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Subtitling rates May 22, 2013

Hi Faustine,