Subtitle Workshop problem with PAL videos (25 FPS)
Thread poster: ZlataN
ZlataN
ZlataN  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 20:22
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jul 25, 2013

Greetings fellow subtitlers,
I have found these forums very useful in the past, but this is my very first time taking part. Your help would be greatly appreciated.
I am becoming acquainted with Subtitle Workshop 2.51 (having only used company-provided software in the past). So far so good when I create a new subtitle file with NTSC (30 FPS) videos. However, whenever I open a PAL video, it plays but with an awful stuttering noise over the audio.
This may seem like an obvious qu
... See more
Greetings fellow subtitlers,
I have found these forums very useful in the past, but this is my very first time taking part. Your help would be greatly appreciated.
I am becoming acquainted with Subtitle Workshop 2.51 (having only used company-provided software in the past). So far so good when I create a new subtitle file with NTSC (30 FPS) videos. However, whenever I open a PAL video, it plays but with an awful stuttering noise over the audio.
This may seem like an obvious question, but does anyone know how I can get a PAL video to play in Subtitle Workshop?
Thank you,
ZN
Collapse

Rossana Triaca
Rossana Triaca  Identity Verified
Uruguay
Local time: 23:22
English to Spanish
Troubleshooting... Jul 26, 2013

I can only provide some general ideas to troubleshoot the issue. Have you played the video file using another player to discard a codec issue? Are you comparing files that only have different FPS or they have different encodings/resolutions etc.?

ZlataN
United States
Spanish to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Same issue in Windows Media Player Jul 26, 2013

Hi Rossana,
Thank you for your reply.
The PAL videos work fine in TranStation, but in WMP I get the same stuttering noise.