Carmen Grabs
Carmen Grabs
Germany
Local time: 10:36
Member (2012)
English to German
+ ...
Nov 14, 2013

I am planning to get a transcription software where you can time-code videos.
Can anyone recommend any really good software? It should be really good quality.

Thanks a lot.
Carmen

Piet DM
Piet DM
Belgium
English to Dutch
+ ...
Spot Nov 14, 2013

Hi Carmen,

Being a professional subtitler, I've been using Spot Software for some seven years now. Never had any flaws, it works like a charm (and - although still costly - it is way cheaper than it's competitors like Swift).

Piet

Pavel Slama
Pavel Slama  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 09:36
Member (2014)
English to Czech
+ ...
Subtitle Edit Nov 14, 2013

I find Subtitle Edit very efficient – it has waveform display, warns if excess length/speed/char. count etc., keyboard shortcuts for caption start/end, split/join lines, spell check, etc. – and is free.

Am I missing out on something by not using commercial software?

[Edited at 2013-11-14 17:09 GMT]

Ridwan Mahmud

Carmen Grabs
Carmen Grabs
Germany
Member (2012)
English to German
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Let me see Nov 14, 2013

Thanks to both of you for your replies! Will check out both suggestions and update you on this forum.

Any more input is welcome

Srini Venkataraman
Srini Venkataraman
United States
Local time: 04:36
Member (2012)
Tamil to English
+ ...
Express Scribe Nov 14, 2013

I am using Express Scribe Pro ( licensed version) costing about 30 Australian $. Able to do much faster and better with time coding for video transcription.

Monica Paolillo
Monica Paolillo
Italy
English to Italian
+ ...
Commercial versus Non commercial Nov 15, 2013

Hi Babylondon,

if you offer professional subtitling, you are missing out on a few aspects.