I Have never Done this before...
Thread poster: Christopher H
Christopher H
Christopher H
United States
Local time: 18:41
Nov 16, 2014

At the moment, I am translating subtitles for a classic movie, as I could find nothing of quality on the subtitle websites. Now, I worked off of a horrible English translation, and a Spanish translation, with the help of some dictionaries and Google Translate. It is quite painstaking...

I first went through the bad English translation, and fixed extremely poor grammar and spelling, and made it more storylike and conversational. I translated the songs in a poetic fashion, as I find
... See more
At the moment, I am translating subtitles for a classic movie, as I could find nothing of quality on the subtitle websites. Now, I worked off of a horrible English translation, and a Spanish translation, with the help of some dictionaries and Google Translate. It is quite painstaking...

I first went through the bad English translation, and fixed extremely poor grammar and spelling, and made it more storylike and conversational. I translated the songs in a poetic fashion, as I find that in better keeping with the story and feel. After I finished my correction of the English subs, I went through the entire thing again, with the Spanish as a reference. and I am now matching it to the movie. As I match it to the movie, I am adjusting my translations many times over, as there can be so much more added to the translation when observing body language and situation.

I am sure that this is a very heterodox way of translating, but I know that I am producing real quality. I guess that you cannot really make money doing what I am doing here. If One can, I would be delighted. I wonder, if in translating classic foreign movies, if I could produce copies of said movies with my translations, copyrighted of course, to put on the market.