Subtitling novice (if I should even get into it)
Thread poster: Elisabeth Maurland
Elisabeth Maurland
Elisabeth Maurland
United States
Local time: 18:23
Member (2013)
English to Norwegian
+ ...
Jan 21, 2015

I am fairly new in the translating business and think it's fun learning new things. So when an agency asked me if I could do subtitling for them, I told them that I had never done it before but was willing to learn. And they were willing to give me a test, which I did "excellent" on, and then they offered me some very low rates. I was able to increase them and got them up to my regular per word rate for documents, but my counter offer of £5 a minute subtitling (as opposed to £2) was kind of a ... See more
I am fairly new in the translating business and think it's fun learning new things. So when an agency asked me if I could do subtitling for them, I told them that I had never done it before but was willing to learn. And they were willing to give me a test, which I did "excellent" on, and then they offered me some very low rates. I was able to increase them and got them up to my regular per word rate for documents, but my counter offer of £5 a minute subtitling (as opposed to £2) was kind of a shot in the dark. I have no idea. I just checked this forum and saw that £2 was way too low.

Anyway, I got this response:

"Is the £5 per minute your rate for translating scripts and for subtitle use (This could be a time coded Word or Excel file, similar to the Excel test you took). Or is that your rate for Subtitling e.g. translating, time coding and transcribing?"

I don't know what they are talking about! I didn't know there were other ways to do subtitling than the test they gave me. The latter part of their question makes me wonder if that's something that requires special software and/or is beyond my current skills and possibly something I don't really want to spend the time getting into. I am guessing it would also demand a higher rate than the first.
Collapse