Free software that works as close as possible like Swift?
Thread poster: Nele Van den Broeck
Nele Van den Broeck
Nele Van den Broeck  Identity Verified
Belgium
Local time: 04:27
French to Dutch
+ ...
Mar 3, 2015

Dear "colleagues",

I graduated in July 2014 as a translator and have been working as a secretary since then.
I absolutely love translating and especially subtitling and want to make it my main job one day.

However, I still lack experience (because obviously, studying at university for five years is not nearly enough) and I am trying to compensate that lack of experience by translating as a volunteer for charity (which I absolutely love).

One of my "cl
... See more
Dear "colleagues",

I graduated in July 2014 as a translator and have been working as a secretary since then.
I absolutely love translating and especially subtitling and want to make it my main job one day.

However, I still lack experience (because obviously, studying at university for five years is not nearly enough) and I am trying to compensate that lack of experience by translating as a volunteer for charity (which I absolutely love).

One of my "clients" asked me if I could subtitle a video for them, and although I really love subtitling and (according to our teachers at university) I seem to have a talent for it, I don't have the correct equipment (software) for it.
In my years at university we subtitled using Swift subtitling software which I really liked both for manually timecoding as for the translationpart ... I liked that it counts characters, gives you a green "light" whenever you didn't have too much characters per second and a red light when you had too much, as well as the accurate spotting possibilities using your numberpad.

Since I'm only working as a volunteer at the moment, and I don't earn any money with my subtitling/translation, I am looking for free subtitling software, preferably something as close to Swift as possible, but especially an "all in one"program.