Alisa Warshay
Alisa Warshay
United States
Local time: 17:45
Spanish to English
+ ...
Aug 22, 2018

Hi everyone,

I'm new to subtitling. I have a potential project where I will receive the following:

source and the MT .srt files.
Would we receive a script? No, you’ll only receive the subtitles.
the are using MTPE so I’ll have the source subtitles and the MT translated ones.

They are offering $3/minute. Is this awful? Is it standard?
I understand that it depends on my speed--I honestly have no idea how fast I'd do these. Is doin
... See more
Hi everyone,

I'm new to subtitling. I have a potential project where I will receive the following:

source and the MT .srt files.
Would we receive a script? No, you’ll only receive the subtitles.
the are using MTPE so I’ll have the source subtitles and the MT translated ones.

They are offering $3/minute. Is this awful? Is it standard?
I understand that it depends on my speed--I honestly have no idea how fast I'd do these. Is doing 6 minutes of audio in 1 hour slow, medium fast?
How about 10? You get the idea.

What rates do you suggest for subtitling Spanish to English? Please provide different scenarios.

Thanks!
Collapse

subtitleinsider
subtitleinsider
United States
Content and speed Aug 29, 2018

Your speed will largely depend on the content. Typical subtitling will have about 10 subtitles per minute. If you give yourself about a minute per subtitle, you could do 6 minutes of programming per labor hour, or one hour of programming per 10 hours of labor. At $3.00 per minute, you would make $18 per labor hour before taxes.

When you are starting out and/or if there is more dialogue or more difficult dialogue than is typical, you likely will be able to do less programming, so yo
... See more