Clean up in Trados
Thread poster: Michael Alger
Michael Alger
Michael Alger
Local time: 08:38
German to English
Mar 22, 2009

I'm fairly new to Trados, which might perhaps explain the problem somewhat. My problem is that once I've translated a file and want to clean it up, the file disappears. Completely. I don't just mean from the monitor - I really mean from my system.

When I run the clean up command my Word window goes blank. The file has gone. I've tried running a search for the file on my computer (on all drives) and I cannot find the file at all. What am I doing wrong?

My solution so fa
... See more
I'm fairly new to Trados, which might perhaps explain the problem somewhat. My problem is that once I've translated a file and want to clean it up, the file disappears. Completely. I don't just mean from the monitor - I really mean from my system.

When I run the clean up command my Word window goes blank. The file has gone. I've tried running a search for the file on my computer (on all drives) and I cannot find the file at all. What am I doing wrong?

My solution so far has been to translate in Trados - I feel this is a program I should be using after all - and to clean it up in Wordfast - a program I've used quite happily in the past. Although this gets the job done, it's a pretty stupid way to work. I would be grateful for any help.
Collapse

Jerzy Czopik
Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 09:38
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Conversion to rtf Mar 22, 2009

is the problem and most probably this causes the file to dissapear.
You can easily avoid this kind of problems, when you follow these steps:
- Save a copy of your translated file in rtf format.
- Open the original translated file in Word.
- In Word press ALT+F8 to get to the macro window.
- In the field for macro name type "TW"
- From the macro list (now all beginning with "TW" are listed) chose the one called "TW4clean.main" and let it run - either by double
... See more