Ginna Ma
Ginna Ma  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 04:36
Spanish to English
+ ...
Dec 8, 2009

Hello everyone,
I have been translating for a couple years on a part time basis and have always focused on business projects, but I still think of my self as pretty green in this field. I recently accepted a project to translate a non-technical book (my first one) written by a new author with the purpose of educating the reader on some Christian misconceptions. The author is not profiting from the book and is using a fairly small publisher.

I initially quoted the book $0.12 US
... See more
Hello everyone,
I have been translating for a couple years on a part time basis and have always focused on business projects, but I still think of my self as pretty green in this field. I recently accepted a project to translate a non-technical book (my first one) written by a new author with the purpose of educating the reader on some Christian misconceptions. The author is not profiting from the book and is using a fairly small publisher.

I initially quoted the book $0.12 USD for translation and proofreading for approx. 38,000 words.
The author thought it was too high and was told by the publisher that book rates were usually about $0.02 USD p/wrd.

Because I believe in the book I decided to make it a "labor of love" and shrunk the number significantly to the $0.02 USD p/wrd in order to make it happen. I also negotiated for my name to be in the book and receive credit for the translation.

I was wondering what you guys thought. How common is this? Was my price way too low? How should I have handled it?
I certainly hope to make a good impression and at least be able to say that I translated a published book...could this open the door for bigger and better things?

Your feedback is greatly appreciated!
Thanks in advance
Collapse

Alistair Gainey
Alistair Gainey  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 12:36
Russian to English
My thoughts on this issue Dec 8, 2009