Translating a French driver's license into American English
Thread poster: Troy D
Troy D
Troy D
United States
Local time: 14:39
French to English
Sep 9, 2010

I just received a request to translate the French driver's license of a student who will be staying in the U.S. This student wishes to be able to drive here and has been asked by the Secretary of State to obtain an official translation of the document. It appears that as a sole proprietor I am eligible to provide such a translation, but I am wondering whether someone out there has any experience with this kind of work? It's my first time working on an "official" translation and my first time wor... See more
I just received a request to translate the French driver's license of a student who will be staying in the U.S. This student wishes to be able to drive here and has been asked by the Secretary of State to obtain an official translation of the document. It appears that as a sole proprietor I am eligible to provide such a translation, but I am wondering whether someone out there has any experience with this kind of work? It's my first time working on an "official" translation and my first time working on a license. The biggest problem right now, I suppose, is not knowing whether I am just supposed to give the client a couple 8 1/2 x 11 pieces of paper with the translated text of the "permis de conduire" or whether I should instead adhere to some kind of state or federal formatting regulations. Is someone out there willing to give me some advice on this and/or counsel me? Thanks in advance.
Troy
Collapse

Henry Hinds
Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 12:39
English to Spanish
+ ...
In memoriam
It might be easier... Sep 9, 2010