Time needed to translate an audio file
Thread poster: Anna Parish
Anna Parish
Anna Parish  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 20:02
English to Russian
Feb 6, 2013

Hello, I was approached by an agency to translate some audio files. The files are about 120 - 180 min long. They are asking to provide information on how much translation I could be doing per day. I have never done translation from audio before so have no idea how long it can take. Could anyone advise on how much could be achieved per hour?

Many thanks!

Anna

Nikita Kobrin
Nikita Kobrin  Identity Verified
Lithuania
Local time: 22:02
Member (2010)
English to Russian
+ ...
2 phases Feb 6, 2013

Anna Parish wrote:

Could anyone advise on how much could be achieved per hour?

There are 2 phases:

1. Transcription of audio files - depending on many various factors each minute of the recording takes from 5 to 10 (or more) minutes to be transcribed.

2. Translation of the transcribed text - your usual pace.

Taking the above into account make the calculation.

Nikita Kobrin

Anton Konashenok
Anton Konashenok  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
Local time: 21:02
French to English
+ ...
Impossible to tell in advance Feb 6, 2013

It is impossible to give an estimate without listening to the files first. Ask for a sample and measure yourself. If there are several speakers recorded, make sure you get a sample for each of them. I once made a mistake of giving a quote to transcribe a recording of a two-day conference after listening to just a couple of speakers. One very long presentation by a Chinese speaker and two by Norwegians took me about 5 times longer than I expected because of heavy accents aggravated by murderous g... See more