90 min Film translation time estimate and rates and subtitle software search
Thread poster: consuelo werner
consuelo werner
consuelo werner  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 00:42
May 7, 2015

Hello,

I am new to film translation. I have a person who would like to have me translate a 90 min film. she doesn't have transcripts yet so I asked for those.

How long it would take to do? I'm not sure how many words would a 90 min film have. I can do on average 1500-2000 words a day of translation.

Translation is from English to Spanish. Also she wants me to use software to place subtitles on the film.

If you know of any software it will be a
... See more
Hello,

I am new to film translation. I have a person who would like to have me translate a 90 min film. she doesn't have transcripts yet so I asked for those.

How long it would take to do? I'm not sure how many words would a 90 min film have. I can do on average 1500-2000 words a day of translation.

Translation is from English to Spanish. Also she wants me to use software to place subtitles on the film.

If you know of any software it will be appreciated. and lastly, how much do you charge?

Thanks,

Consuelo
Collapse

Juan Jacob
Juan Jacob  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 01:42
French to Spanish
+ ...
Hi. May 7, 2015

1.- You say "you are new". So, don't do it. It takes a long time to be a good subtitler and you need a mentor or a master...
2.- Without script, you must do it "be ear"... very difficult. If you are VERY good, 10 minutes = 1 hour work.
3.- No idea about fees: Where is the company based, where are you, want kind of material is it, etc.?

Good luck though.

[Editado a las 2015-05-07 18:28 GMT]

Juan Jacob
Mexico
French to Spanish
+ ...
Hello? May 9, 2015

You ask, I answer.
No answer.
What's the point of your question?

Thayenga
Thayenga  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 09:42
Member (2009)
English to German
+ ...
It all depends May 11, 2015

consuelo werner wrote: